Zoom: Annoyed When System Announces When Someone Joins/Exits Meeting?

Tags Zoom

Do you find it annoying when Zoom announces the name of those who have just joined or exited your meeting?  Does the announcement interrupt the flow of the ongoing discussion? Here's how you can stop this from happening in your meetings!

Start by checking your host settings before you create a meeting:

Method #1:

  1. Log in to Zoom in your browser by going to tennessee.zoom.us.

Method #2:

  1. Go to Zoom and click on the gear in the upper right corner or click on your initials and select Settings.
  2. Click on Profile.
  3. Click on Edit My Portfolio.  This will open tennessee.zoom.us in a browser tab.

Next steps:

  1. Click on Settings in the left menu.
  2. Under In Meeting (Basic), you will see Sound notification when someone joins or leaves.
  3. Toggle this option On.
  4. Once enabled, you will see additional options:
  • Play sound for:
    • Everyone
    • Host and co-hosts only
    • Click on your preferred option.
  • When someone joins by phone:
    • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Ask to record their voice to use as the notification
  • Select the options that meet your needs.

Some hosts want to be made aware when anyone joins their meeting.  Others do not.  This may also vary by meeting.

If you do not want to be alerted to participants joining and leaving your meeting, Toggle the Sound notification when someone joins or leaves option Off.

Print Article

Details

Article ID: 135899
Created
Fri 9/24/21 12:44 PM
Modified
Wed 1/11/23 9:11 AM

Related Articles (4)

Learn all you need to know about co-hosting in Zoom including Troubleshooting.
Quick one page overview of Zoom
Using Outlook to schedule Zoom meetings is so easy!
There are some default Zoom settings that you can change.

Related Services / Offerings (1)

This is not something that any UTHSC faculty, staff or student needs to request. You already should have one. By logging in with your SSO into tennessee.zoom.us, you are accessing your UT Zoom Licensed (Pro) account. However, if you are not using Single Sign On or SSO to login, you will not see it.