Files That Are Not Mine Are in My OneDrive!

Source: Microsoft article Share OneDrive Files and Folders

It is important to use discretion when sharing your OneDrive documents.

Use Microsoft OneDrive as a cloud backup, and share files, photos, and entire folders with others.

Your cloud storage in OneDrive is private until you decide to share with others. You can also see who a OneDrive file is shared with or stop sharing at any time.

There are times when we want to share documents stored in OneDrive with co-workers, friends, and family.  It is important to use discretion and be sure you are sharing with the “least privilege,” which means to only give access to people who really need access.  And only give “edit” access to people who should be able to make changes to your documents.

Remember that we are all responsible for protecting our UTHSC and personal documents.

To see with whom a file or folder is shared:

  1. In your document library, select the file or folder.
  2. Above the list of files, select Share.

The Send link window opens.

  1. If the item is currently shared with anyone, a Shared with list appears at the bottom of the Send link window.
  • Each circular item in the list represents a person or group that the item has been shared with.
  • Point your mouse at any item to see the name of the person or group.
  • Click any item in the list to see more details about who can access the file. See Manage access to a file in this article for more details.
  • If there isn't a Shared with section, the item isn't currently shared.

To learn more about sharing your documents responsibly and seeing who your documents are currently being shared with, visit this Microsoft website.